French flagEnglish flag

Morocco

Morocco has resumed growth since 2000, but it remains insufficient to meet the demographic challenge and fragile as correlated to the results of the agricultural sector (which accounts for 11-18% of GDP depending on the year). The non-agricultural activity has played since the beginning of the decade stabilizing role throughout, with an annual growth rate ranging between 2.6 and 6.5%. This one was particularly fired up the global economic crisis which began in 2008, for the good health of construction, industrial and service sectors, telecommunications and tourism in particular.

Recent economic performance, however, show that rebalancing between sectors remains weak. The slowdown was felt in effect from 2009, particularly in the secondary sectors (textile, leather, automotive) and tertiary (-6.3% for tourism, -8.1% for transfers from abroad) but it was offset by the excellent results farming (23%) which has allowed the GDP growth of s' to 5.2% in 2009 despite the economic crisis.

The unemployment rate, which fell below 10% in 2006, continued to decrease to 9.1% in 2009, but with the persistence of alarming levels among urban youth and graduates (32% and 20 % unemployed). Inflation has been controlled from about 10% in the early 1990s to 1% a decade later. It was certainly an acceleration of inflation between 2006 and 2008: 3.3% in 2006, 3.9% in 2008, under the combined effect of domestic factors (revaluation of VAT, consumption growth) and external (rising prices for food, fuel, etc..). But this trend reversed in 2009, where the rate does not exceed 1%.

The Moroccan authorities pursuing policies of the dirham hard to control inflation. The dirham is pegged to a basket of currencies dominated the euro (80%) ..


Morocco News

Interview with Alain Juppe Taib Fassi Fihri - 04/04/2011

Alain Juppé, Minister of State, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, met with Taib Fassi Fihri, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation of Morocco, Wednesday, March 30 at the Quai d'Orsay. Discussions focused on the development prospects of our cooperation within the framework ... Read more

French flagEnglish flag

Maroc

Le Maroc a renoué avec la croissance depuis 2000, mais celle-ci reste insuffisante pour faire face au défi démographique et fragile car corrélée aux résultats du secteur agricole (qui contribue pour 11 à 18% au PIB selon les années). L’activité non agricole a joué depuis le début de la décennie un rôle stabilisateur dans l’ensemble, avec un taux de croissance annuel oscillant entre 2,6 et 6,5%. Celui-ci a été notamment tiré, jusqu’à la crise économique mondiale qui s’est ouverte en 2008, par la bonne santé du BTP, du secteur industriel et du secteur tertiaire, télécommunications et tourisme en particulier.

Les résultats économiques récents montrent toutefois que ce rééquilibrage entre secteurs d’activité reste fragile. Le ralentissement de l’activité s’est fait sentir en effet à partir de 2009, en particulier dans les secteurs secondaire (textile, cuir, automobile) et tertiaire (-6,3% pour le tourisme, -8,1% pour les transferts de l’étranger) mais il a étécompensé par les excellents résultats agricoles (+23%) ce qui a permis à lacroissance du PIB de s’établir à 5,2% en 2009 malgré la crise économique.

Le taux de chômage, qui est passé sous la barre des 10% en 2006, a continué à décroître pour atteindre 9,1% en 2009, avec toutefois la persistance de niveaux alarmants chez les jeunes urbains et les diplômés (respectivement 32% et 20 % de chômeurs). L’inflation a été maîtrisée, passant d’environ 10% au début des années 1990 à 1% dix ans plus tard. On a certes enregistré une accélération de l’inflation entre 2006 et 2008 : 3,3% en 2006, 3,9% en 2008, sous l’effet combiné de facteurs intérieurs (réévaluation de la TVA, hausse de la consommation) et extérieurs (augmentation des prix des denrées alimentaires, des carburants, etc.). Mais cette tendance s’inverse en 2009, où le taux ne dépasse pas 1%.

Les autorités marocaines conduisent une politique du dirham fort afin de maîtriser l’inflation. Le dirham est indexé sur un panier de devises où prédomine l’euro (à 80%)..