French flagEnglish flag

Turkey

The year 2009 was marked by a sharp drop in activity. GDP dropped by 13, 9% in the first quarter, the sharpest quarterly decline in the country since World War II, and 6% for the full year 2009. But these results must be qualified in several respects:

The recession has had positive side effects traditionally weak on two points of the Turkish economy: first, inflation was lower in 2009 at the official target set by the Central Bank, 7.5%. Indeed, the index of consumer prices stood at 6.5% at end-December 2009, on the other hand, the negative balance of current account balance would have declined by 42 billion USD in 2008 (5, 7% of GDP) to 11 billion USD in 2009, representing 1.8% of GDP due to a substantial contraction in the deficit of trade balance.

The Turkish banking sector has been spared by the financial crisis, thanks to a reorganization of the sector after the 2001 crisis, the weak management activities derivatives, and on liquidity.

Turkey has benefited from an increase in the sovereign rating by two of the three largest international rating agencies, and a loan of 2 billion USD in thirty years launched by the Turkish Treasury, in the absence of any agreement with the IMF.

Thus, the government is already anticipating a return to growth in height of about 3.5% in 2010 and 4 and 5% respectively for the next two years.

However, the improvement in the macroeconomic environment should be viewed with caution for several reasons:

Despite its efforts to strengthen its trade relations with countries in the Middle East, Turkey still dependent countries of the European Union which represented almost half of Turkish exports.

The Turkish economy could be affected by a shock second round of the international crisis.

The fiscal position has deteriorated (a budget deficit estimated at 6.6% of GDP against 1% under the initial budget law for 2009) without the government has sufficiently clarified its plan to reduce the budget deficit.

Electoral prospects (in 2011 legislative and presidential elections in 2012) might refer to a later date the necessary structural reforms.


Turkey News

BNP Paribas: the branch "Insurance" is growing in Turkey - 04/04/2011

BNP Paribas Assurance signed with TEB and Fortis Bank Turkey, whose merger is called "The New BER", an exclusive distribution agreement for a period of 20 years. The agreement covers the distribution of insurance products and "Life & Pensions' within the networks of TEB and ... Read more

Economic relations between France and Turkey - 18/03/2011

Economic relations Franco-Turkish rose in 2010. French investments have increased dramatically since the mid-80s and reached a significant level in the past 15 years. The French establishments are divided as follows: automotive (11%), financial services (10%), construction-building materials ... Read more

French flagEnglish flag

Turquie

L’année 2009 a été marquée par une forte chute de l’activité. Le PIB a ainsi chuté de 13, 9% au premier trimestre, soit la plus forte baisse trimestrielle enregistrée par le pays depuis la seconde guerre mondiale, et de 6% sur l’ensemble de l’année 2009. Mais ces résultats doivent être relativisés à plusieurs titres :

La récession a eu des effets collatéraux positifs sur deux points traditionnellement faibles de l’économie turque : d’une part, l’inflation a été inférieure en 2009 à la cible officielle fixée par la Banque centrale, 7,5%. En effet, l’indice des prix à la consommation s’est établi à 6,5% à fin décembre 2009 ; d’autre part, le solde négatif de la balance des transactions courantes aurait baissé de 42 Mds USD en 2008 (5,7% du PIB) à 11 Mds USD en 2009, soit 1,8% du PIB en raison d’une contraction substantielle du déficit de la balance commerciale.

Le secteur bancaire turc a été épargné par la crise financière, grâce à un assainissement du secteur après la crise de 2001, les faibles activités de gestion des produits dérivés, et une sur liquidité.

La Turquie a bénéficié d’un relèvement du rating souverain par deux des trois plus grandes agences de notation internationales, ainsi que d’un emprunt de 2 Mds USD à trente ans lancé par le Trésor turc, en l’absence de tout accord avec le FMI.

Ainsi, le gouvernement anticipe déjà un retour de la croissance à hauteur d’environ 3,5% en 2010 et de respectivement 4 et 5% pour les deux années suivantes.

Cependant, l’amélioration du contexte macroéconomique doit être considéré avec prudence pour plusieurs raisons :

Malgré ses efforts pour renforcer ses relations commerciales avec les pays du Proche et Moyen Orient, la Turquie demeure dépendante des pays de l’Union européenne qui représentaient près de la moitié des exportations turques.

L’économie turque pourrait être affectée d’un choc de second tour de la crise internationale.

La situation des finances publiques s’est déteriorée (un déficit budgétaire estimé à 6,6% du PIB contre 1% prévu par la loi de finances initiale pour 2009) sans que le gouvernement ait suffisamment précisé son plan de réduction du déficit budgétaire.

Les perspectives électorales (législatives en 2011 et présidentielles en 2012) pourraient reporter à une date ultérieure les réformes structurelles nécessaires.